Hit enter after type your search item



“A light rain was falling and grey clouds hung low over the rolling French countryside, producing premature twilight as three sleek prototype automobiles rolled across the finish line to end the 24 Hours of Le Mans for 1966.”

This 1966 Le Mans race became the subject of a book by A.J. Baime titled, Go Like Hell! The words shouted by Bruce McLaren to Chris Amon as they drove to their famous victory. Exactly fifty years after that historic 1,2,3 finish for the Ford GT40 at the world’s greatest endurance race, and Ford has returned.

Four Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Ford GTs took to the Le Mans track for the official test day ahead of the 24-hour race on June 18, 2016. This is the first time the Ford GTs will run at Le Mans as the team prepares for the 24-hour race that starts at 15:00 CET on June 18.

“Fifty years ago, one of the most legendary moments in motorsports history took place as the duel between Ford and Ferrari took place on the track at Le Mans 1966,” said Bill Ford, executive chairman, Ford Motor Company. “Once again, all eyes will be focused on this legendary race as Ford returns to take on the best in endurance racing.”

The Ford GT race car is based on the new Ford GT supercar – the most advanced Ford production vehicle ever, featuring the latest in light-weighting, aerodynamics and EcoBoostengine technology, and an innovation showcase for the Ford brand. The Ford GT has been built to take on the toughest competition from Ferrari, Corvette, Porsche and Aston Martin in the ultimate battle of speed, endurance and efficiency.

“It is exciting for me personally and for all of Ford Chip Ganassi Racing to be going to Le Mans to race, especially given the 50th anniversary of Ford’s historic 1966 win,” said Chip Ganassi. “We have enjoyed racing the new Ford GT this season and expect to be strong at Le Mans.”

The Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Le Mans driver line-up is as follows:

66 – Billy Johnson (US), Stefan Mücke (GER), Olivier Pla (FRA)

67 – Marino Franchitti (GB), Andy Priaulx (GB), Harry Tincknell (GB)

68 – Sébastien Bourdais (FRA), Joey Hand (US), Dirk Müller (GER)

69 – Ryan Briscoe (AUS), Scott Dixon (NZ), Richard Westbrook (GB)

  • Facebook
This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar
Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views :